G's interview
02.04.02 // 7:53 p.m.

Occasionally, I�ll have an interesting assignment, like the interviews for my sociology of gender course with a male and female, that can apply to real life situations. In each interview I tried to ask the same questions. Afterwards I compared the two to see how they conduct and experience intimate relationships (however you choose to define that) similarly or differently.

So, I interviewed my cousin�s cousin, G. As I asked questions about his relationship history I remembered why I had a crush on him when I was 12� he is quite handsome! I felt odd asking some of the questions because I felt like I was prying, but G came out with some gems, and lots of valuable insight into my own current relationship.

The key thing that I got from G was his feelings on the time commitment in relationships. As I heard him say this, I listened more intently. Some things became clearer, especially with this:

�The big thing, I think is being able to dedicate the time to the relationship. I�m really busy right now. I�m doing so many things that I think that�s why I don�t have a relationship, its because I wouldn�t be able to give the time to her that I know that she deserves or that I know I should give her. And to me, I�m the type of person that whatever it is I�m focused on, or whatever it is I�m doing, I give a 100% effort to that. If I�m doing ten other things and I�m in a relationship, and I can�t dedicate my time to her, it�s not fair to her. So, that�s why I don�t get involved.�

It makes me question a lot. Am I truly getting the time I feel I need even if we�re in a �gray area�? I don�t have a definite answer right now.

More gems from G�

On love:

Right now I�m kind of at a lost for words for what love is, but I think when I�m in love I�ll probably be at a loss for words again.

Its total complete devotion to your partner�

On intimacy:

On all levels, physically and emotionally, you�ve touched that person inside� it�s like your souls have touched.

An aside:

"I always liked George."

Me, talking to G. in reference to which Beatle I liked. Lori and Adrian snickered when they heard this. Way to stick my foot in my mouth, right?

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star