movie night
02.02.02 // 11:35 p.m.

I spent some quality time with two of my best friends last night, Chispa and Isa. I had dinner of delicious Thai food with Chispa and we updated each other on the latest news in our lived. Of course I talked her ear off about Dom, but its cool �cause she�s happy for me. Isa, her roommate, thinks Dom is too nice because of all the sweet things he says.

A little after dinner Isa and I went out to watch Amelie a French film about a charming yet introverted young woman. The film was great, but the fun started before we even entered the theatre. We arrived about 20 minutes before the film started and bought our tickets. Neither of us felt like sitting in the theatre for 20 minutes waiting for the film to begin, so we wandered around the 3rd floor of the upscale Westside Pavilion and window shopped since that was all we could do anyway. After making a lap around the third floor and peering into Journey�s shoes, the Gap, and Express we made our way into the small Landmark Theatre.

This wasn�t your average movie theatre. You could tell they screened independent films hot off the Sundance festival to yuppie college-educated audiences. A table set with complimentary coffee sat to the left of the door. I walked in without thinking twice of showing the guy at the door my ticket. He didn�t even say anything until Isa reminded me. After I found my ticket, we lined up at the concessions stand.

�I want one of those boys,� Isa said to me in a lowered tone signaling the two young men serving buttery popcorn and Sour Patch kids to a trendy couple ahead of us.

�Which one?� I asked without missing a beat.

�Either one, it doesn�t matter.�

�You should talk to them then. It won�t do any harm. I think I�m getting lemonade, you?�

�Popcorn.�

�Can I help you?� Concessions boy caught me off guard.

�Um, yeah. Can I have a lemonade.�

�Sure, what size?�

�Medium.� I responded a bit unsure of myself. Just as he turned around to serve my lemonade I caught sight of the shiny brass name tag pinned crookedly to his white shirt. He was my brother�s tocayo, Danny. I began talking to Isa about my brother.

Danny returned with my not-so-medium lemonade. I handed him a twenty to cover my over-priced drink. �Aw, you�re going to have to wait. I don�t have change.�

This would have given Isa the perfect opportunity to talk to him more, but she just stood there without asking Danny anything. He gave me my change and then Isa asked him for her popcorn. Isa became a coquette and Danny was surely charmed by her cute indecisiveness and luminous smile. After Isa bought her large buttered popcorn (for the free refills!) we went into the theatre full of couples and found two empty seats.

�I want to go talk to him,� she whispered to me as the LA Times ad ran.

�I�ll do it I volunteered.� I had nothing to lose.

�Ask him how old he is.�

�Okay, I�ll pretend I forgot to get napkins.�

I went back, exchanged a few words with Danny, but never asked him his age. He was cute� I bet Isa could have got his number. Maybe we�ll return to the Landmark again for another foreign film when we have nothing better to do on a Friday night than gossip.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star