la virgen de guadalupe
12.12.01 // 12:57 a.m.

Today is the feast of La Virgen de Guadalupe. Its one of the most important days for Mexicans and Chicanas/os whether you are Catholic or not. I found a great site about the history of the 16th century apparition, but that's not my purpose in writing this.

I don't want to give a history lesson, just tap out some words about what she means to me. On Monday when I was thinking about this my eyes started to get watery. I felt chills when I heard the Ave Maria and when I looked at the famous picture. Ever since I can remember, I have always been a devotee of La Virgen. I think at times I did it unwillingly because my mother and grandmother wanted us to pray the Rosary. But now as I have grown I see that she represents so much more to me and many other Chicanas/os than being the mother of Jesus (though that's pretty important too).

To me, she is hope, especially for the poor and the oppressed. In the 1960s the United Farm Worker Union led by Cesar E. Chavez carried banners with her image. When Hidalgo began the Mexican Independence movement in the 19th century he also carried her banner and yelled, Viva la Virgen de Guadalupe! Her calm smile is a reassuring signal that everything is going to be okay.

Some may say that we have blind faith in her and the story was conceived by some Spanish missionary in order to convert the millions of natives in Mexico. However, I don't think of that. Instead I think of the struggles that my family has been through and how she has always guided us. I think of my Mama Toni and Grandpa Bartolo when December 12 roles around. One of the things I recall about my Grandpa is how much he loved la Virgen. He's gone now, so honoring la Virgen is kind of like honoring his memory too. My Mama Toni on my Mom's side prays the Rosary daily and even knows the entire litany. I rarely pray the rosary, but instead honor her in my own way.

I've been trying to express what she means to me, but I don't know if its quite clear. Maybe I'll be able to do so after I go to mass with Chispa in East LA.

I forgot to say that she also represents love and compassion.

Y que Vive la Virgen de Guadalupe!

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star