�feliz cumplea�os, yoyi!
01.15.05 // 8:55 p.m.

Lori (aka Yoyi, Yo, Girlpants, GP, and Lil' Sister Shutterbug) was born January 15, 1984. I don't remember much about that day or even much about Lori as a baby. I do recall that she often had ear infections and was very crabby. She cried a lot.

After 1984, I was no longer the baby. I now had a little sister to play with, tease, and occasionally (ha!) argue with. And guess what, she put up a fight.

Lori has always been independent. She's not afraid to wear tights over diapers for her Halloween costume, or tell you what she really thinks of you.

Growing up, we used to fight a lot. I mean a lot, but that changed after I went away to college. I started school at UCLA and she started high school. Suddenly, we understood each other. we shared secrets and we became more peers than rivals for our parents' attention.

In the summer of 2001, Lori got into photography. It was fun for the whole family. She got to develop her talent, and we got to pretend we were models.

In March 2002, I almost lost my sister. It was an incredibly difficult time for the both of us, but it brought us together. When I graduated, the only person I thanked by name in my 250 character dedication was my sister. It was just nice to have her there.

When Yoyi was in high school some boy (one of many, many young men) confessed his love for her. I think his name was Chaz. Anyway, he said something about her "natural beauty" and I laughed. I only laughed because Lori's smile cost her a few thousand dollars, she spends a good deal of time applying her face, and she spends a good deal of money getting her hair colored. Of course, she doesn't need all of that... she's got the good genes.

Today is Lori's 21st birthday. I should be outside celebrating with the rest of the family. But, I'm hiding out in here writing an entry on how much I love my sister. I've been thinking about what to write for a few days now and it's really hard.

I guess all I want to say is: I love you, little sister.

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: good
Escuchando: "lil' sister" by king chango

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star