Yellow paper
06.25.02 // 7:45 p.m.

I was cleaning out my wallet a few nights ago. Its way too big, part of the reason I like and dislike it. I was throwing out all the old ticket stubs from films, business cards and fortunes from fortune cookies I no longer needed nor wanted.

To my surprise, I found the small piece of paper torn from a yellow legal pad with Dominic's name, phone number, email and AIM screename. I have all those things stored up in my brain but still won't bring myself to throw away that little piece of paper.

It reminds me of the night when I met him, Saturday, September 15. Earlier in the week I had received an email from my friend, Chris, inviting me to a party he was hosting at his house. Supposedly, some guy named Dom would be providing the music, but I had no idea who this Dom guy was. It didn�t click to me that he was an OKP too. I had a short conversation with Chris Monday night as I put off working on a research paper for my Sociology Research Methods course. He asked if I'd be going to the party. I joked that I'd be MIA due to a "hot date." Chris pretended to be jealous, and then I let him know that I would make it out.

It seemed like a good chance to unwind from my finals week of summer school (and other stress that came up on Tuesday). I knew I'd be in the area instead of at my apartment because I wanted to go shopping and spend some of my birthday money and gift certificates.

I was looking very nice that night. I was nervous as hell. As usual, I decided to show up to the party after 10, so when I got there most people were already under the influence of something. I had Yo put goop on me just for extra measure, to symbolically cover up my insecurity. My clothes were nothing special, but it was new. I wore tight blue jeans with flared legs, and a blue green sleeveless turtleneck sweater. I put on the new military style jacket I bought because I get cold easily even though it really didn't match. To add some height to my outfit, I wore a pair of thong sandals with low heels.

I looked cute, yes I did. Here I was going to a party, alone mind you, where I only new four people. I knew Chris and his brother, Lamont, would be there, and hoped that their friends (two other OKPs) I'd also met, Scott and Tim, would be there too. But that was it. I remember wanting to drink just so that I could come out of my normally very shy shell.

When I got there, Chris and Lamont introduced me to folks. A lot of the people I met that night (besides Dom) I still keep in contact with today and consider good friends. But of course, the most significant person I met that night was Dominic.

I don't know really remember what I talked to him about or which brother introduced us. He joked about my nickname, Cindylu, and asked if it had anything to do with Cindy-loo Who of Grinch fame. I liked the fact that he was wearing a maroon guayabera, and I mentioned it to him. I sort of berated him too for playing something by De La Soul with �wetback� in it.

Honestly, I was really surprised when I saw that little yellow piece of paper in his hand as I gave my despedidas to the hosts and people I'd just met. I didn't know I had made a good impression, that he thought I was cute or even had a mini-crush on me. It just didn't dawn on me.

I liked him though. I was fascinated that he was a deejay, that he had red hair, was from San Francisco and knew some Spanish and Italian. I was glad to give him my info. I didn't even feel like he was hitting on me, it just felt like I was going to "get to know him better" as clich� as that sounds.

I�m glad I still have that yellow piece of paper. It reminds me how this all started. Oh yeah, and he still has the paper I messily wrote my contact info on too.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: slightly overwhelmed by Day 2 on the job
Escuchando: the tick of the clock

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star