it could have been worse
11.18.02 // 2:04 p.m.

By now the susto is gone and I've consumed enough sugar to get my blood sugar back to normal.

I got in a car accident, again. Except this time it was worse and I really fucked up. Everybody keeps telling me, at least you, Ren�, and Lori are okay; and at least the driver and passenger in the car are okay; and hey we have insurance, so don't worry too much about it.

Their reassurances mean a lot to me, because I keep thinking of the "what ifs." I try to stop and just give thanks to God that we're fine.

So what the hell happened? It's quite simple really. Yo, Ren�, and I were on our way home from mass. One minute I was talking to Ren� about how he didn't need to pay me for the Maldita Vecindad concert tickets as we listened to Mostros. The ticket was a gift since I owe him one. The next second he yelled out "the light is RED!" I tried to stop half way through the huge intersection, but I was going too fast. The white Camry hit my side near the rear door, I spun around ninety degrees to face north rather than east the direction I was traveling. A few seconds later as I realized what had just happened, I got my bearings back and drove my car into the Mobil gas station on the corner.

George, our 16 year old neighbor, was right behind us. He got out of his girlfriend's car quite shaken up too and called his dad and then Danny. George Sr showed up a few minutes later as I talked to the driver of the other car and the CHP officer took my license, proof of insurance and registration for the report.

Lori is okay. Ren� is okay. I'm okay still a little shaken up, but calmed down. The driver of the Camry that hit me is okay. His wife is okay. His car's front bumper is not okay. My driver's side rear door is a little dented and the rear tire on the same side is going in a little. My parents are glad we're okay, my aunt didn't freak and neither did the grandparents. We're insured so it shouldn't be too big a deal.

My ego is not okay. I feel like such an idiot. What the hell was I thinking? Was I even thinking? Chispa tells me it could happen to anyone, which is true, but I don't like making mistakes that could seriously hurt others especially those I love.

[Note: I wrote this last night, but just got around to posting it today.]

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: idiotic
Escuchando: "in my eyes" by rufio

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star