Worrisome me
07.23.02 // 6:30 p.m.

I�m worried. I think this comes with the territory of being the boss of a staff of 13 college students. I�m worried because I just found out about an hour and half ago that Vanessa P., the administrative assistant for Calm�cac, got into a car accident over the weekend. I�m not exactly sure about the seriousness of it, but it doesn�t sound good. Vanessa is being treated for spinal injury.

I don�t know her too well, but I did see her last week. I was supposed to have a session with her too on Friday, but she cancelled. I want to assure myself that everything will be okay, but I have to be realistic.

In general, it�s been a pretty good day, except for finding out about Vanessa. No one told me, I think they all thought that someone else had let me know. I�ve been in and out of the office all day. I found out through a message her roommate left on the voice mail. Angel told me a few minutes later that he had called her apartment to get a bit more info from her roommate and she called back. This is the second time I have to get bad news through voice mail. Sigh.

Like I said, the rest of the day was a bit better. I had two very good workshops with lots of good feedback. I think the students were really able to apply the topic (speaking to professors and teaching assistants in office hours) to their own experiences. I felt good reading through the evaluations. Unlike last week, there was not a single negative comment, and many students couldn�t identify a weakness with the workshops. We (the SRC directors) rock.

Last, my parents� 25th wedding anniversary is today. It�s through them that I learned the meaning of unconditional love. I feel lucky to have grown up in such a loving environment, though like all families we still had our rough spots.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: worried
Escuchando: "Same Shit Different Day #1" by Jaguar Wright

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star