Wedding notes
08.11.02 // 11:19 a.m.

  • If you're running on Mexican time, everything and everyone is late. So, in order to mitigate the effects of Mexican time on their wedding, Tony and Ingrid wrote that the mass would start at 1:30 when it really started at 2 p.m. I was on time (even for the 1:30 mass).

  • My cousin, Ernie and I realized that we've been doing the readings (1st and 2nd) at weddings, quincea�eras and anniversaries for about 9 years now. I guess as the perceived nerds in the family, they made us tag team. I actually read the correct reading this time, and my hair didn't get in my face.

  • I looked cute in my black dress and green & black rebozo. Dom would've liked it.

  • Tony seemed pretty nervous, who wouldn't be?

  • Valerie was a flower girl, she looked adorable, but white is not her color as she looks too dark in it.

  • Ryan and Michael, Tony's nephews, looked adorable too, but by the afternoon, Ryan had already gotten dirt all over his tuxedo.

  • I'm surprised Ingrid didn't wear a super short skirt 'cause that's what she's always wearing when I see her. She looked very traditional in her white wedding dress and veil as her father walked her down the aisle.

  • I once again realized the patriarchal nature of a Catholic wedding ceremony. I don't belong to my father, so why is he supposed to give me away?

  • I was going to not read the scripture if it was the passage about a woman being subservient to her husband. I cringe whenever I read it, and I laughed at the irony of me, Ms. Liberated Chicana, having to read that? But then I realized Tony and Ingrid wouldn't be too happy with me. (It was a different passage, one in which a man is supposed to care for his wife as part of him, like if they shared a body).

  • Ren�, the Crazy Mophead Cousin, didn't go. His presence was sorely missed, especially during the dance.

  • It was REALLY hot yesterday, so hot it was uncomfortable and made us sleepy.

  • The food was yummy. I heard that my madrina Chilo didn't let anyone else help her make the food because she wanted it to be perfect.

  • Yo did my make up. I looked cool, even Claudia, my cousin Eric's fianc�e (they just got engaged), thinks so.

  • The alternation between the band and the deejay wasn't too good. I would've liked to hear more of the deejay because after a set or two, the band became repeptitive.

  • Mexican wedding traditions are fun, but a little silly and odd. Have you ever seen a Dollar Dance? I guess it's just a way to get more money for the happy couple.

  • I got tired of being at the wedding. Yo and I left early and chilled with the Peoples' at their house for and hour or two. I've missed the Usual Suspects.

  • Dom called. He said I had an attitude. I did, but he understood. Est� mocoso (he's got a cold) and he's growing a beard. I do miss that boy greatly and can't wait to see him in a week (it should go by fast).

    Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

    Me siento: well fed
    Escuchando: nada

    M�s reciente:
    Searches - 09.16.05
    the big move - 07.29.05
    mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
    jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
    tough question - 07.25.05

    antes // despu�s


  • star star star