hospital visit
05.18.03 // 3:12 p.m.

I went to the hospital today*. I saw my Pap� Chepe in his bed, tubes in his nose, some little device clipped to a finger, more tubes attached to his chest and arms. Even with all that, it didn't hurt too much to see him in such a state. He was alert and talkative. He told me what each thing was for and we talked about how he had been feeling.

I hadn't seen him since Sunday, but everyday since I had an update. Monday he stayed there and I think that's when his doctors decided to install a pacemaker. The pacemaker was installed Tuesday evening, but afterwards he had another heart attack (confirmed on Wednesday). On Thursday, he was transferred to another hospital in Whittier where they performed an angiogram to get a better idea of what to do next. From the angiogram we found out that there were 4 clogs in his arteries that were somewhere between 80 and 100% clogged. The doctors decided to perform an angioplasty and that was done Friday at noon. Thank God that went okay, so he's currently in recovery.

It's been a tough week. Actually, it's been more like a tough month. I know Pap� Chepe is not immortal. I know that 82 years and a life like the one he's had wears down on you after a while, but it's still extremely difficult to accept. Each scare is just one more little sign that the time I have with him and my grandmother is limited. I can only remember the words of my good friend Chris. He reminded me on Monday that even though grandfathers are not immortal their spirit and memory are, but you can't take for granted the time that you do have with them.

Oh yes, and I'm thinking of the good that has come of all this. Well, for one thing, I've been seeing my (extended) family a lot lately. My extended family is really more like my immediate family, but I don't see them as much as I like. However, since Easter, I've seen them all quite often. Then, there's all the friends and family who are extremely supportive. Folks like Secu, Chispa, and the roomies are all ready and willing to lend an ear.

On Friday after I got my dad's message with the latest update about the impending angioplasty and read an email from the Redhead that threw me off I talked to Pato, my roommate. I was nearly crying and just way too emotional. Later, when I returned to the office after a meeting, I found a few gerbera daisies and a little stuffed bunny at my desk. See, it's little things like that, phone calls, notes and stuff that just let me know that there is a tremendous amount of support for me, my family, and of course Pap� Chepe. Last, all this is strengthening my faith, something I really need.

[*Note: I wrote this Saturday, but just got the chance to post it today.]

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: angie stone's "i wish i didn't miss you anymore"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star