utica
01.14.03 // 11:59 p.m.

I was reminded of New York today because of a towel. Yes, a towel. When I noticed the brand, Utica, I smiled and recalled that Utica was our stop on the A train. Once we left the train station, we just walked the five blocks to Dwine's apartment.

Dwine is the oh-so kind and welcoming host who opened his apartment to eight (at the most) Californians on vacation. I didn't meet Dwine until I got to his building on Malcolm X Blvd five blocks away from the Utica train station.

I originally planned to take the train from JFK to Brooklyn, but decided against it when I realized that 6:30 am it was still quite dark out and I'd have to carry my luggage. Instead, I took a cab who drove a little too aggressively for me. I lucked out though. Later I'd find out that everyone else who came from either La Guardia or JFK had cab drivers who did not know their way around Brooklyn. At least my cabbie knew his way into Bed-Stuy. He delivered me to my destination in one piece. Once there I did some work, talked to Dwine about gentrification (a common theme) and showered before Chris got in. By the time we went to bed the Redhead, Lou (the Redhead's brother), and Lamont were in. I woke up Saturday morning to see Tim in from Ohio. The next day, the rest of the group, Cherisse and Jamila flew in and then the group was complete. The rest of the week was just a bunch of 20 somethings running amuck in the big city (mainly late at night). I loved it (most of the time).

I miss New York a bit. My life seems so boring now. No staying out drinking and dancing in clubs until 4 in the morning. My weekend consisted of trying to get my car washed, doing my laundry and joking around with Adrian's friends. Not exciting at all...

I definitely want to go back. I'd like to explore more of Brooklyn, and get a yummy hero sandwich at the bodega across the street from Dwine's apartment. I'd like to take the train or call a cab after a long day and not have to worry about driving. I want to listen to Bobbito spin again at APT and hear some nice poems at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe. I want some soul food from Aahirah's Palace in Harlem. I want to drink champagne and play dominoes with Dom, Lou and Chris, and kick their asses. I want to get out my "fly ass" coat and be able to wear it somewhere and have heads turn when I walk by.

I liked New York, I really did. I don't think I'll be trying to move there anytime soon, but NYU and Columbia just my be on the list of some schools I may apply to.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: beautiful
Escuchando: la tele

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star