starstruck
03.23.03 // 2:23 p.m.

"The negative is like the composer's score. You don't awlays perform it the same. But, of course, you do keep the music."
- Ansel Adams

I had one of the best Saturdays in a while yesterday. It wasn't because I got to see a great exhibit, or one of my favorite musicians, but it was just because I did it all while spending quality time with Yo and my mom.

We started off the morning by making plans to check out the Ansel Adams exhibit at LACMA. I haven't been to the museum in ages even though its close to my apartment (in LA terms). On Wednesday, I found a book at a used bookstore filled with some of Adams' most famous photos. As a surprise, I gave it to Yo and she loved it. I joked with her that Paul (coworker) had flipped through the book earlier and said it inspired him to get more serious about photography. I joked that it inspired me to take a trip to Yosemite, the Grand Canyon or some other grand National Park and take my sister along since she's the designated photographer of the family.

The exhibit itself was even more awe-inspiring than the book. The images are breathtaking and remind me of the immense beauty there is in this world, even in a time of war. Of course, Yo loved the exhibit. She's studied some of Adams' techniques and had been wanting to check out the exhibit for awhile.

Later, we drove a few miles to Roscoe's Chicken n' Waffles since Yo had been craving it for awhile. The food was yummy as always, but there was something even better there... Stevie Wonder! I didn't notice him until he was leaving with his group and a big dog (what caught my attention). He was sitting two tables away, but my mom's big head blocked him. Anyway, I recognized him as soon as I saw him. I still feel a little star struck.

Once we returned to the suburbs, Yo and I played on the swings at the elementary school for a little while. I think I'm getting old because after a few minutes of swinging up and down I got nauseous. Yo and I returned to the house and watched Monsoon Wedding with my mom. Since the sun was already setting on the beautiful day.

Danny treated us to dinner at Acapulco's and I invited Isa along. It's been a few months since I saw her last, so it was fun to hang out with her and talk about anything on our minds.

That was my Saturday... full of so many highlights, I can't pick just one. They should all be that way.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: lazy
Escuchando: lilo & stitch on the tv

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star