double standard?
11.16.02 // 11:10 p.m.

My older brother is an idiot. He treats Yo like she's a 4 year old or something. All she did was go ice skating with a guy, his brother and his brother's date and Danny freaked. He was upset that she had gone out with someone he didn't know never mind that my parents had already approved when Yo asked if she could go out with them. I guess some can see it as Danny and Adrian just being protective, but I think they're being unreasonable. Oh yeah, and when they did approve of someone Yo liked and dated, that boy ended up cheating on her and being a jerk. Yeah, they have good judgment.

I don't know about my family, they make me wonder sometimes. Here Yo is talking to guys and dating, which is perfectly normal for an 18 year old girl. I go away to school date guys my parents never knew about nor met. Dom is the only one they know about. The siblings did know about the Turtle at least. It's weird. Last year, Danny let me borrow his credit card so I could buy a plane ticket up to the Bay for Dom's birthday weekend. Did he meet Dom? No. Did he meet any of my other friends who were going on the trip? No. Did he freak out? Not at all. In fact, he was happy to conspire with me.

I didn't do anything they would have disapproved of, but from then on Danny as well as my parent's would have freaked if they only knew. I wonder if they don't make the connections or if they just don't want to realize it. Why don't they ask questions? What the hell do they think I do when I go visit Dom? Where do they think I stay? When I went to the Bay in January for a weekend I took Yo with me. I guess they saw her as a chaperone, but don't they realize that siblings cover for each other? I took two more trips to see Dom with her and they didn't even ask questions besides where we were staying. They were more concerned with us getting to our destination safely than what was going to happen once we arrived. What about when Dom stayed in LA for a week with me? Well, my mom did advise him to keep it tied up, but they never asked about where he was staying even when it was clear through the conversation that he was staying at my apartment. One last example, when Danny joined Yo and I on the last trip to SF over Labor Day weekend, I stayed in Dom's room while they stayed in the living room. He didn't even say anything to me!

What is it about Yo that makes my parents and brothers so protective? Do they just expect me not to do anything or something? They respond that they know Yo has a good head on her shoulders but it's just that they know how guys are. Those guys aren't much different than the ones I've dated.

I know my parents trust me and they have this view that I'm the kid with little to no flaws. I keep my nose clean, get good grades, pay my bills and go to church. Or so they think. I just don't get caught when I do something they'd disapprove of.

They don't ask and I don't tell 'cause if they just knew the things I've done it would break their hearts (not like I've really done anything that's a big deal).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: warm
Escuchando: "Spanish Bombs" by the Clash

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star