Sleeping disorder
02.28.02 // 7:46 p.m.

I think I have a sleeping disorder, just one more fault to add to the list.

During my freshman year I slept through two midterms. The first time it wasn�t too big of a deal. I didn�t even have to drop my statistics course because the professor only counted the best score of two midterms, homework and the final. I was also taking 16 units, so by dropping that one course in the beginning of the 4th week of the quarter, I only had to deal with a $3 fine.

The next quarter I stayed up late studying for my midterm in a class on earthquakes. I went to bed around 4 am after reading up on plate tectonics, and the different types of waves. Both (!) of my alarm clocks failed me, and I woke up at 10:30, half an hour into the test. I could�ve rushed to class, but by the time I got there, I would only have 15 minutes to complete the test.

I didn�t know what to do, so I called up my peer counselor, Carlos, a senior majoring in math.

Trying to choke back the tears of disappointment, I managed to get out a few coherent sentences. �Carlos, I missed another midterm.�

As calm as ever � mind you, he had already been through this a couple of months earlier with me � he began to do his job. �Okay, you have a couple of options. Have you tried to contact the professor?�

�No, I think I�d have to wait a while �til he got out of the lecture.�

�Call him or email him. Or even better go talk to him. Try to work something out so that you don�t have to drop the class. Propose having the final count for more or writing a makeup paper.� He paused for a second, and then continued. �How much is the midterm worth?�

�I just checked the syllabus. The midterm is 30%, the final is 50% and the homework is 20%.�

�Then, if he isn�t flexible, come to me and we can fill out a petition to drop the class. You�ll get a late withdraw on your transcript, but its better than a low grade.�

�Alright Carlos, I�ll email him as soon as I get ready.�

Things didn�t work out. The professor advised me to drop the class, so I did.

Those were just too extreme examples of sleeping through something. On a weekly basis I�m either really late, or just miss a class, work, or meeting because I ignored my alarm clock. Most of the times I just shrug it off, and no one really calls me out on it.

Today, I woke up past 11 and I was supposed to be at CABE (my internship site) at 9. I had lots of work to do too. I feel bad. I suck. I thought things would with the new alarm clock that Vane bought me for Christmas.

It has 10 different sounds like rain and a Telltale heart-like heartbeat that is just too creepy. Still, for all the cool sounds and gadgets it has, it still has one major fault� the snooze button, my best friend and worst enemy.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star