recordando salamanca
01.09.05 // 10:00 p.m.


Katia and F�tima at Venice Beach

Right now, Katia is probably waiting in line to check her bags at the AeroM�xico desk at LAX. She's probably clutching her bags, glancing nervously at her watch and making small talk with my T�a Chanita, T�o Rogelio, and cousins F�tima and Esteb�n.

I know how she feels, I've been in her position... a couple of times. I know how it feels to be gone from your immediate family for a few weeks. I know the nervousness and ugly feeling you get in your stomach as you wonder whether or not you'll make your flight and if the security checkpoint lines could move any faster. I know how the contradictory feelings of sadness and happiness you feel as you leave one family to return to another. And I know how incredibly lonely you feel once you've checked your luggage and gone beyond the security checkpoint where only passengers are allowed.

After about three weeks visiting aunts, uncles, cousins and her grandmother here in LA, Katia will return home to her immediate family, t�os petroleros, more cousins and a few great aunts in Salamanca, Guanajuato.


T�a Gloria, T�o Guero, Me, and Paulina in Dolores-Hidalgo

While I was in Salamanca, Guanajuato I got to know Katia better. I regretted the fact that while she was here two years ago with her parents and brothers I barely spent any time with them. I was too absorbed in my work and preparing for a trip to New York City. I didn't understand why my parents would basically bend over backwards to take them to the mountains and to visit different sights around LA and Southern California.

I didn't understand this until I got to Guanajuato. Katia's father and my dad's first cousin, my t�o Guero, went out of his way to show me sights around his state. He and his wife took me to Guanajuato, Dolores-Hidalgo and San Miguel de Allende. I loved visiting those places, and it was even better going with someone who was familiar with the area.

When my mom told me that Katia was here in LA, I jumped at the chance to go see her and show her around West LA. On the one day it hasn't rained in the last two weeks, I took Katia and F�tima to Venice Beach, the Santa Monica Pier, Westwood, UCLA and then drove all along Sunset to East LA so she could see Beverly Hills. I took a bunch of pictures of the girls and the sights, printed them and then took them to her today before she left.

I told my dad that I felt obligated, in a sense, to treat Katia as well as her family and all the Guanajuato and Morelia family treated me when I visited in August. I have a connection to them now, and I appreciate it.


Los primos: Paulina, Gerardo, and Katia

Once again, I feel hella cheated that through immigration I've been split up from family. At least we're fortunate enough to be able to visit.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: "hasta morir" por caifanes

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star