The pretty girl's friend
07.06.02 // 11:48 p.m.

"Truth or dare?" Ome asked.

"Truth" Victor responded unwilling to accept a dare from Ome.

"Alright, who have you had a mini-crush on?" (Yes, we were playing truth or dare, and most of the questions were not this tame).

He thinks for a minute before his first response. "Chispa."

I think, 'surprise, surprise.' Though it really did catch me by surprise.

Andy seconded the crush on Chispa, and Ome acted as if it was obvious that all heterosexual males in our circle of friends had liked Chispa at one point during the past four years.

"Monica."

"The one with the green eyes?" Andy asked.

"Yeah, the one with all the holes punched into her face," Victor jokingly responded in reference to the few piercings she had.

"And Ellie," he finished off

"My roommate?" Claudia asked to make sure.

"No, the one at the Ch�vez Center. He likes older women."

The game went on, I answered questions about my own experiences and refused to admit I ever had a crush on Victor, but I kept thinking about Chispa.

I'm sure everyone has a friend of the same sex who is a knock out and attracts all the attention when you go out. For me, that friend is Chispa, and by now I've gotten used to it.

I can easily count a dozen guy friends who had/have a crush on Chispa. Now, if you knew her and had seen her you'd know why. Chispa, is the girl everyone loves. In high school, she was voted the prom queen and was part of the student government. She's smart, creative, athletic, caring, hard working, understanding, humble, friendly, politically conscious and a host of other positive things. She's beautiful, just ask any boy who knows her. There is no reason I can think of not to like her. She's one of my best friends, and one of 4 people in the world who know me really well. With Chispa I don't even have to say things at times and she already knows what I'm thinking. I guess 4 year of friendship will do that to you.

Now, since our first year, Chispa and I have been very close. We pretty much tell each other everything, and like many heterosexual girls, we talk about boys.

Since our first year, she's told me about many boys who like her. The thing is, she never presents it in a vain way. In fact, a lot of the times it causes some kind of problem. Usually, the boys are friends who develop crushes.

I guess I just got used to all the guys liking Chispa, even if some of them were mini-crushes. It never even bugged me, why would it? Chispa doesn't even have to do anything other than be herself and guys fall all over. But last night was different, it was the first time I felt myself get a little jealous. What do you expect, though? Of the major crushes I've had at UCLA, Victor comes in second with the Turtle as the first.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: content
Escuchando: Yo talking

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star