Perspective
06.12.02 // 10:47 p.m.

I love it when I find someone who puts my problems into perspective without really trying. Its not like they want to make their situation worse in some type of oppression Olympics. They never say, �YOU think you got it bad? Let me tell you what I have to deal with!�

They just tell it like it is. Last January when JP came back from studying for a semester in Mexico City, we had dinner together. I found out that while there, he fell in love and was really missing his girlfriend. They accepted the daunting task of maintaining a relationship across the border and thousands of miles. I understood JP, but I realized it was a lot tougher for him.

At least Dom is in the same time zone. He doesn�t live that far away. I mean, the flight is less than an hour and a half and a 5 hour drive is not too terrible.

Judit moved from Mexico City to Tijuana to be closer to JP, but she couldn�t come any closer. She had to deal with immigration and getting a visa just to be able to cross the border. I remember talking to JP on Mondays when he would come back from Tijuana. He�d tell me about the problems she had just trying to get an appointment to get her visa. I�d think, gee, at least neither Dom nor myself have to worry about borders when we visit each other.

Today, I met Judit. JP brought her by the office as he promised he would. I remember him being so excited to let me know that after a couple of months of living in Tijuana she had finally been granted her visa. Judit is beautiful and I understand why JP is in love with her. They look like one of those couples that are glowing with their love for one another.

I respect Judit. She moved hundreds of miles to a city she knew no one in just to be closer to her boyfriend. She also had the strength to keep up a long distance relationship. JP and Judit give me hope. They make me smile.

JP and Judit remind me of El Gran Silencio�s �C�rculo de Amor�

Y sigue maltrando y yo te estoy esperando
Para decirte que te quiero
Para decirte que sin ti me muero
Y quiero que todo el mundo se entere
Que para mi no existen fronteras
Y que me muevo para donde quiera
Por que hay algunas personas
Que no me conocen y me ven
Y piensan y dicen y sienten y creen que
Que solo soy un pobre perdedor
Pero eso no me interesa por que
Tengo a mi familia y
Tengo un coraz�n y 4, 5, 6
Y soy feliz todo el d�a y todo el mes
Pero no importa yo solo vine para decirte que yo te quiero
Y que me gusta cantar y cantar y cantar
En la guitarra solamente yo me s� el �C�rculo de sol�
Y eso me basta para decirte que te quiero
Y eso me basta para decirte que sin ti me desespero (x3)
Solo besarte quisiera, quisiera�
Y al antes morir te quiero, decirte te quiero
Por que sigue maltratando (x3)
Y yo te estoy esperando para decirte (que te quiero)x3
Que te quiero y que sin ti me desespero
Que lindos ojos tiene mi chata
Como relumbran cuando me ven
Son negros, negros como la noche
Y tan serenos como mi f�
Esos ojitos son mi esperanza
No me los quites nunca se�or
No me los quites diosito santo
Por que sin ellos muero de amor
Hoy necesito que me digas que me quieres por que ya lo s�
Y por que miro como me miras y tambi�n se que piensas en m�
Cada vez que me voy y cuando no estoy me esperas
Por que sabes bien que tengo que regresar contigo
Por que me gusta estar contigo
Como me gusta cantar y cantar y cantar
En la guitarra solamente yo me s� el �Circulo de sol�
Y eso me basta para decirte que te quiero
Y eso me basta para decirte que sin ti me desespero (x3)

Postscript: So, last night as I talked to Dom he told me about all the DJ gigs he�s got lined up, partial reason why it�s been tougher than usual to just sit around and talk. We decided that a t-shirt with the design below would be perfect. Downloading new fonts and dingbats is addictive. Fontalicious rocks.


Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: isolated (studying does that to you)
Escuchando: Bobby Caldwell "What you won't do for love" on Chocolate City host, Garth Trinidad

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star