un a�o despu�s
03.21.03 // 9:42 p.m.

I look back all the time at where I was a year ago. Everytime I do this I always see myriad changes in myself, but I don't pay too much attention to the situation around me.

A year ago, I was worrying about finals, not yet aware that my sister was dealing with depression. I was anxious to see the Redhead since I knew he'd be in town for the weekend. All that stuff suddenly changed Friday night when I found out from my dad that she had attempted suicide by taking generic Tylenol pain killers.

I don't need to recount that (its all in the archives, marzo 2002), but I should say that we've made big strides since then.

I learned so much from that experience. Before that I used to take my family for granted, assuming that they would always be around. With my sister, I didn't give her as much time and attention as she needed. I was too wrapped up in me. I think I still am to some extent. Instead of being so fiercely independent, I knew that I had to rely on other people to help me get through that. I knew I had to be honest and open with people.

I still think about this a lot... and it makes me cry to read things I wrote from that time. I was so close to losing the most important person in the world to me. Thank God I didn't.

Love you, Yo.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: blessed
Escuchando: the "news"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star