moving on up
10.24.03 // 9:45 p.m.

All in all, I'm doing fine these days.

I'm finally doing what I should have been doing in the summer, seriously researching the type of graduate programs that I would like to apply to and going through that process. I've spent hours organizing the process. Writing down how many schools I'll be applying to, the program title, degree earned, deadline, fee, standardized test requirements, number of recommendations, specifications for the personal statement, number of letters of recommendation, and transcripts.

I already have a short list of the schools I'll definitely be applying to. Then there are the most likely's; I probably will apply to these schools. I just need further information about the programs, requirements and even which program I'll apply to at that school. Finally, I have my backups. The thing with these schools is that they're all in California and I'm not so sure I still want to be here. Hey, I need to keep my options open, right?

The list
(In no particular order)

Definite
UCLA :: Counseling in Student Affairs, M. Ed.
U. of Maryland :: College Student Personnel, M. Ed.
De Paul :: Human Services and Counseling, MA
University of San Diego :: College Counseling and Student Services, MA

Most likely
Harvard :: Higher Education, M Ed. OR Human Development and Psychology, M. Ed. OR Risk and Prevention, M. Ed.
New York University :: Counseling and Guidance, MA OR Higher Education Administration
Columbia :: Higher and Postsecondary Education, MA
Claremont Graduate University :: Education with Higher Education/Adult Development Emphasis, MA

Backups*
San Francisco State University :: College Student Personnel Counseling, MS
Cal State Long Beach :: Student Development in Higher Education, MS

*I added them not because I didn't think I would be admitted to other programs, but more for there affordability

Whew... I realized as I wrote this all out that this all subject to change. In the end, I might not like Harvard much after my vist. Also, I might not want to deal with retaking the GRE as I would have to with Harvard.

Arg. This isn't easy.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: a bit inspired
Escuchando: the love below andre 3000

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star