Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da
07.30.02 // 3:57 p.m.

Isa is back! I�m almost as excited as if Dominic were in LA again. She�s back from some program for overachievers in Massachusetts. Now I have someone to vent with about the trials and tribulations of long distance romance. Ahhh� fun!

She called me a little past midnight to invite me to join her, Chispa, and a few other friends at a karaoke bar about a mile away from my apartment. Normally, this would not have been a big deal at all. I mean, when I was in school, going to bed at midnight seemed preposterous, just as waking up before 10 am seemed too tough to do.

However, now that I�m in at work sometime between 8 and 9 (most days) am, I find that I�m getting sleepy by 11 something. Oh no! I�m waking up in the single digits and going to sleep in the double digits. Does this mean that I�m becoming an adult?

Perhaps my parents will now expect me to pay my own car insurance and to set up my own doctor�s appointments.

When Isa asked me to meet her last night I told her I was already in my pajamas, had already showered after my run with Ome and was ready to go to bed. I don�t think she understood that I�m suddenly becoming more responsible and that staying out so late doesn�t work well for me anymore.

I still went though. I hadn�t seen Isa in more than a month, since before she went to Guatemala, and had barely talked to her. I got dressed quickly, ran a brush through my hair and ran into the bar. I didn�t sing anything on my own because I wasn�t ready to make a fool of myself. I laughed at Chispa and Adrian [try] to sing The Cure�s �Just like heaven� or as Isa and Gabby made a better attempt at Madonna�s �Papa don�t preach.�

We did get to sing about Desmond and Molly Jones in The Beatles� "Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da".

I think I�m going back Thursday, to belt out �Sabor a mi,� a classic bolero. Perhaps I'll drag my boy there when he comes to LA in 3 more weeks.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bored with work
Escuchando: nothin'

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star