all you need is love
11.16.03 // 9:49 p.m.

I asked my mom and dad a few weeks ago the following question:

What do you think you did right while we were growing up to ensure that we turned out "okay"?

Now, at first my parents were really confused, so I had to elaborate upon my question. Once I explained that I wanted to know what they felt they did right so that their four children all went through school, we all did some work in higher education, we're not druggies, we're not in gangs, etc. Essentially, we're good kids. We go to church on Sunday. We treat our parents, grandparents, and other adults with respect. We have good manners. And some people even think we're "perfect."

My parents acknowledged all of this, but they still were at a loss for any concrete reason.

My mom postulated that perhaps it was because she stayed at home through most of our early childhood. She's never worked full time and she didn't even start working part time until my little brother, Adrian, began school. My father worked all the time when we were kids, but we still spent a lot of "quality time" as a family. Both he and my mom showed affection for us, told us they loved us and disciplined us when appropriate.

I'm at a loss for the answer to this question too. I can't even say why we're okay. What did my parents do right? They taught us strong values like honesty, integrity, humility, and caring for others. They took us to church and lived out our faith too. They were there for our Little League games, choir recitals, dance perfrmances and parent-teacher conferences. And they loved us. Is it that simple?

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: satiated
Escuchando: outkast on some music award show

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star