on my origins and racism
07.16.03 // 5:47 p.m.

Have you ever experience racism? What did you do about it?
When you feel passionate, do you talk about it?

Where are you from? What is your story?
Who are your parents? Do you know their story?

(from Jason)

Have you ever experience racism?
Unfortunately, I have experienced racism. I've seen it blatant and outright as well as subtle and hidden, but it's still there. The blatant and scary experience occurred when I was only about 11 years old. I was too scared to say anything to the man who was yelling at my mom and my siblings. He threatened to break every bone in my father's body, but my dad was still at work. Being threatened isn't fun. Up until then, I had heard of racism and hate, but had never experienced it like that. It was the first time I saw that people were threatened by Mexicans in their neighborhood.

What did you do about it?
I didn't do anything at the time, except for cry. Now, I just recall the story and remind myself that I never want to feel that way again.

When you feel passionate, do you talk about it?
Not really, I think I write about it more. I talk about it to certain people though. Most of the times when I feel passionate about something, I'm not sure how to even express it.

Where are you from?
This question throws me off sometimes. If you asked where I grew up, I'd say Hacienda Heights, an suburb about 20 miles east of downtown Los Angeles.

If you asked about my roots, I'd say Zacatecas and Guanajuato, M�xico. But this is hard, because I got roots planted throughout Aztlan. I got roots in northern California, Tijuana, Baja California, South Texas, and East LA.

So where am I from? The easiest answer would be Aztlan.

What is your story?
It's a tragicomedy written in the pages here, and several other journals, history books, academic papers, notes, emails and more. It's told in whispers, yelled out loud and sung in songs. My story doesn't have a beginning I can find, because my life goes much farther back than my birth on that Labor Day weekend in 1980, or the night I was conceived, or even my parents' birth. My story is one of struggle, hope, faith and love.

Who are your parents?
My parents are Carlos Jos� M--qu--a and Luz Mar�a U----�o M--qu--a. But neither one of them was born with those given names.

Do you know their story?
I'm still learning it. They tell me their tales of growing up on farms in South Texas, picking fruit in the Central Valley, going to school in East LA at the height of the Chicano Movement, and playing in a band called Los Marcianos (the Martians). They often tell the stories as though they're funny, but when I think about it later, I can't help but wonder if at the time the experience was more painful. Both of my parents immigrated at young ages from Central M�xico and after spending some time in South Texas, Stockton, CA, and Tijuana they landed in East LA. I'm still learning their stories though...

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: really sad...
Escuchando: "la vida es un carnaval" por celia cruz

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star