on my land
07.17.03 // 10:38 p.m.

More questions from Jason! Yeah.

What is your nation? Where is it�s land?
How was it stolen? Which resource was in demand?

What is your nation?
I claim Mexico, even though I've never lived there and the last time I visited for an extended period of time was when I was about 10 years old. I claim American citizenship though...

Where is it�s land?
It used to be where I sit now (well, this gets complicated because this land actually belonged to the Tongva peoples). Now, it's the southern end of the North American continent.

How was it stolen?
Over half of Mexico's land was lost in the Mexican American War. After the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo was signed in 1848 all of New Mexico, Texas, Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, Colorado and parts of Oregon became territory of the US. The war itself was really unfair if you look into it. Before the US stole the land from the Mexicans though, the Spanish stole the land from the indigenous peoples.

Which resource was in demand?
Pretty much everything from silver to human labor.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: exhausted
Escuchando: an interview with ben and jen

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star