de mojados and wetbacks
05.09.05 // 1:22 a.m.

Earlier as I sat in unusually heavy Sunday afternoon traffic I wiped away a couple of tears. I listened to "Tres Veces Mojado" by Los Tigres del Norte and it reminded me of recent discussions on and offline on undocumented immigration.

Later, I read a post by Daily Texican about a benefit concert he attended this past weekend for inmigrantes, these two things got me thinking again about immigrants, immigration and my people.

I've been thinking about immigration (especially from M�xico and Central America) more often lately. I never stop being conscious of it since it's one of those things that's always on my mind and a big part of my identity.

I've never forgotten that my parents and grandparents -- except for my Grandma Juana -- were born in M�xico. I've always been keenly aware that my roots take me back to those two silver mining states in central M�xico: Zacatecas y Guanajuato.

Immigration is one of those hot button issues wherever you go. Everyone has an opinion on it. I feel like most people -- especially in the mainstream media -- ignore the fact that those who emigrate are real people. Those on the right and left lose sight of the fact that we are talking about real people with wives, husbands, children, families, hopes, dreams, and un mont�n de ganas to improve their lives.

Aside from a song and a post sparking this post, I've also been thinking about immigration for two other reasons:

  1. Academics: I'll be presenting and leading a discussion on access to higher education for undocumented students in my current issues in higher education course. The presentation will be based on a paper I wrote on the same topic for a course fall quarter.
  2. The Minutemen and that damn billboard: whether or not I care to follow the debates, I still find myself thrown into them.

I've stayed away from discussing those topics on this blog. It's not that I don't want to be "political" or that I fear offending someone with my viewpoints. Those are non-issues. I assume that most, if not all, people who read my blog regularly probably think along the same lines I do. We come from similar backgrounds and probably have like viewpoints on immigration. The real reason I don't touch on the topic is because of time. I'm becoming such an academic that I can't just make a statement without providing a full APA citation.

I opened my mouth recently at Blogging.LA. I'm not so upset about the incident anymore, but it still really sucks to be called a wetback and to be told to go back to M�xico.

Although I'm all for the nonviolent struggle, I don't think I could stop myself from physically hurting that person (or having someone else do it) if I ever tracked him or her down.

He/she should know better than to cross a Chicana.

Comments: 14 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: confused (damn regression analysis)
Escuchando: fan de scorpions - babas�nicos

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star