return to la mariposa
05.08.05 // 9:31 p.m.

Many a Sunday brunch was held here

My dad called me up earlier in the week to let me know the plans for the weekend. The plan: on Saturday we'd go as a family to dinner at La Mariposa, our favorite restaurant in West Covina and on Sunday we'd get together with the rest of the family at my cousin Tony's house.

Con la otra nuera (with the other daughter-in-law) Con la nuera (daughter-in-law) Con el hierno (son-in-law)

The dinner plan worked out beautifully. Adrian and Cindy (his girlfriend, yeah, I know it's confusing) arrived first. I got there a few minutes after them and talked with her a little about the four hour SAT exam she had taken earlier that day. Danny and Christina arrived right after and a minute later Lori and Mikey walked in. (Sidenote: it's so weird that all my siblings are paired up in serious relationships. It makes me feel like the odd one out.)

You should thank them Gemelas (twins)?

When my mom arrived, she was surprised to see us all, but really happy. I'd be happy too if I had a Cadillac Margarita waiting for me at my seat. She told Christina, Danny's girlfriend, that she had not been surprised since a baby shower friends threw for her when she was pregnant with Danny in November 1978.

Anyway, we had fun, and relived a lot of old memories at La Mariposa. We used to go for brunch every Sunday after Mass. My dad's parents, Grandpa and Grandma, would always join us (well, it was their idea to go to brunch). We rarely go nowadays unless it's a special occasion. The owner and a few of the waiters still remember us and always are pretty shocked at how much we've changed over the years.

Mom's always been at my side

Anyway, this is by no means the only day of the year I admire my mom. She's always been at my side, whether I've been driving a car at Autopia at Disneyland or just having a casual dinner. And for that, I thank her. Love you, Mom.

P.S. Happy Mother's Day to other Moms out in the blogosphere. Lex and Alejandra are the only two that come to mind.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: lazy
Escuchando: in the backseat - the arcade fire

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star