call me alexander
05.25.04 // 8:48 p.m.

I feel like Alexander, the redhead kid in Alexander And The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.

I made a list of all the horrible and very bad things that happened today... let me break it down to you.

12:10 am - Phone call from Claudex filling me in on the latest drama at work. You know, it seems like I can't be out of the office more than 24 hours (on a work day) without shit falling apart.

12:20 am to 2:00 am - Can't fall asleep even though I'm extremely tired. The neighbhors were too noisy and my bed felt oddly uncomfortable.

9:20 am - Finally roll out of bed, and head for the shower. I know I'm going to be late for my 10 am director's meeting, but I really don't care. What does bother me is that I find the bathtub filled almost to the top with gross greenish water. It looked as if Shrek had bathed in my tub! I was repulsed by the mucky water and had to make do with the sink, soap and a washcloth.

9:45 am - I want to call in sick, but I can't because the place falls apart without me.

10:00 am - Traffic sucks, again. I find that driving is making me a little queasy, and my "short cut" no longer shaves any time off my morning commute.

10:30 am - Staff members need to talk to me about their issues. It's still not resolved and I wonder to myself, do I really work with college students disguised ad kindergarteners?

11:00 am - A bright spot, I hear Robin playing, "Everyday is Like Sunday."

12:00 pm - Sitting in a meeting, I notice through the windows that the day is kinda gloomy and cloudy.

2:00 pm - I head over to the coffee house and with the last dollar in my wallet, I buy t� de manzanilla. While squeezing in some honey, my hand slips and knocks over the tea. I wanted to cry. I got a little bit of honey on my sweater too.

Actually, after that it didn't get any worse. I met with Claudex, reviewed the applications for next year's staff (looks promising). I got out of there by 5, which is unusual. The Lakers won and so did the Dodgers. I had a good lunch (leftover albondiga soup, yum!) with one of my favorite students and a few other office staff. I got to watch Jeopardy! and the plumber came to fix the problem.

I returned to campus for my interview at GSA. It turns out that they made a mistake and realized that I was qualified. I didn't even have to pull the race card. A simple email did the trick. I was running late for my interview, but still made it... I think it went okay. I can't be sure.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: meh
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star