dodger blues
05.22.05 // 9:19 p.m.

Interleague play

Last season I attended four Dodger games.

  1. April: Giants. Dodgers won in extra innings. Sat in the right field bleachers (pavillion). Went with Ome, Gabby, Martha, Isa and Daniel.
  2. September: Cardinals. Dodgers won. Sat in loge seats along the first base line. Lori's boss gave her tickets. Went with Lori, her ex-boyfriend, Danny, and Adrian (and Ozo too!).
  3. October: Giants. Dodgers lost. Sat in right field reserved level. Went with Ome, Gabby, Adrian (and Ozo, of course).
  4. October: Cardinals. Game 4 of National League Division Series. Dodgers lost, and the season ended. Sat in loge level seats around right field foul pole. Went with Eligio and two of his friends (and Ozo!).

The point of all that is that last season I attended four games. I couldn't attend too many because I didn't have money and was gone for almost all of August. I got into the habit of taking Ozo (the monkey) with me and dressing him up in Dodger gear.

I've gone to four games thus far, and I'm batting .250. Not good. My record for games I've attended is 1-3. The last two have been particularly hard to watch.

Last Saturday, I witness the Dodgers lose to the Atlanta Braves. That wasn't as painful as watching Eric Gagn�, the seemingly perfect closer and former Cy Young winner, come back from the disabled list to give up two homeruns to the first two players he faced. That was demoralizing and I left right after the third batter Gagn� faced in the top of the 9th. He didn't give up a save because the Dodgers were already down 1-3, but making the score 1-5 meant a bottom of the 9th inning come-from-behind win would be less likely.

When A. and I got up to leave (still top of the 9th with no outs) a rude Braves fan started talking shit and I couldn't keep my mouth shut. If I was a boy, he might have done something to me. A. is lucky my mouth didn't get him in trouble. Anyway, leaving early meant we got out of the parking lot quick and on our way to dinner.

Friday's game started off bad. Scott Erickson gave up four runs in the top of the 2nd inning. I wasn't even in my seat yet. I was still trying to find my way through Echo Park (I got a little lost) and find a place to park.

I finally got to my seat sometime in the third inning, and found my sister's boyfriend along with my brothers, their girlfriends, and some friends from Hacienda Heights.

Mikey, the obnoxious fan

Mikey loves the Angels and was wearing his Vladimir Guerrero jersey and red cap. I don't mind sitting next to someone from the opposing team. But Mikey is freaking obnoxious... well he sounded like your average drunk twenty-something guy at a ball game. That annoyed me, even though we usually get along okay.

Violence in the stands

Mikey's attitude didn't help since the Dodger's were behind throughout the game. I probably should have left early then too because then I wouldn't have had to watch another Dodger reliever and sometimes closer, Yhency Brazoban, give up a grandslam to make the score 9-0. Brazoban usually does really well... but the bullpen hasn't impressed me lately. Well, the Dodgers in general haven't impressed me lately.

I'll just keep telling myself it's a long season.

Comments: 6 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hungry
Escuchando: yes i go away - punk of country

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star