march haikus
04.11.05 // 8:19 p.m.

Irasali reminded me that I still had not posted the haikus I wrote last month. If you don't know me too well, I'll let you in on a little secret: I was born two weeks early. Since that fateful day in August 1980, I have lagged on anything that requires some kind of timeline.

Anyway, in true slacker fashion, I present to you March haikus one third of the way through the month.

3.01
Surprised with results
Of second stats quiz
I thought I had blanked

3.02
Another stats quiz
Proves I don't know anything
Don't think I'll do well

3.03
Empty apartment
Only thing that roommates left:
Dishes in the sink

Scared of missing you
On those days that we don't talk
I can't get attached

3.04
Los Lobos sing loud
Strum guitars and jaranas
Mexican soul smiles

Dad would've loved this
Listening to the same tunes
He sang in his youth

Sol�, escucho
La m�sica de mi patria
L�grimas salen

Julie's silhouette

3.05
Prof's birthday party
At modern home in rich hills
Simply pacific

Plucking the strings

3.06
Eighteen-year old boy
Plucks strings of his upright bass
Low notes fill the church

3.07
Father reads letter
Deeply touched, tears blur keyboar
But love, pride are clear

3.08
Newspaper piles up
City election info
Gets buried, dismissed

3.09
Career on my mind
Will I teach when I grow up?
Tenure track scares me

3.10
Bruins lose first round
Glory days of Wooden are gone
"Big dance" hopes die down

3.11
Tongue-in-cheek statement
Against los Mexicanos?
A farce. I like 'em.

Judy and Phil

3.12
In white she trembles
Arms linked with mother, father
Is marriage scary?

3.13
Scar over pale nose
Shows memories of attack
By beast-like canine

3.14
Just four years after
Memory of Royce Hall sit-in
Remains fresh in mind

3.15
Results surprise me
Underestimated mind
Statgirl knows her stuff

3.16
Ex-peer counselor
Misses early morning class
Feels like hypocrite

3.17
Irish patron saint
Celebrated with green beer,
Girls in "kiss me" shirts

3.18
Two or more classes
Form learning community
Gets students engaged

3.19
Hesitates to kiss
Fears the inevitable
Flimsy seal will break

3.20
Churchgoers in red
Listen to Passion of Christ
Faith becomes stronger

3.21
Amoeba records
Sucks away time and money
Music freaks don't mind

I love STATA

3.22
Variables chosen
Syntax entered in STATA
Quant research is fun

3.23
Memory filled road
Traverses California
Helps long distance work

3.24
Date doctor succeeds
Creates glorious masterpiece
Fairytales live on

3.25
Soft peck on forehead
Will probably be last kiss
Between feuding pair

3.26
Road-tripping buddies
Search for good wine, maybe love
Find trouble, crushed nose

3.27
Boulder rolled away
Women find empty tomb
Jesus is risen

Clad in shades of pink
Women and girls celebrate
On Easter Sunday

3.28
Norwalk courthouse fills
With reluctant citizens
On jury duty

3.29
Virginity lost
As red dye seeps into hair
New cut completes change

3.30
Potent red liquid
Sits chilled in glass with fruit chunks
I like sangr�a

3.31
Short witticisms
Emblazoned on bright tshirts
Attract stares, cause laughs

More haikus:
January
February

Comments: 7 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: short
Escuchando: some dumb program on TV

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star