la alcahueta failed
03.31.05 // 1:44 a.m.

Last fall I dated a Mexican boy and nothing came of it. (See, I told you they don't like me.)

This isn't about Mexican men. Instead, it's about compatibility. This guy, Fulano, and I were very similar.

I'm a young, college-educated Chicana from the San Gabriel Valley. My career will be in education. I'm liberal, but I don't talk about poltics all the time. I love sports (especially baseball and the Dodgers) and music. I love writing, words and literature. Oh, and I'm Catholic.

This doesn't seem too weird to me. And it isn't. In fact, that Mexican guy I dated last fall matched me on a lot of the core qualities I value in a mate. We went out on a few dates. I met some of his friends, he met a couple of mine. We talked about our families and where we saw ourselves in a few years. He was a teacher, I was in school to become a teacher at a different level. He grew up just a few miles away from me. He knew what it was like to be the only brown face in a classroom full of white and Asian kids. He went to an elite school on the East coast (which, sad to say, sort of impressed me). He was random and got my offbeat sense of humor. Oh yeah, and he loved baseball and had read Moneyball. We even joked about taking over Paul DePodesta's job as the general manager of the Dodgers.

But... nothing ever came of this. As compatible as I thought we were on the core issues we didn't really like each other. Things just fizzled out, and I assume we were both okay with that.

Fulano wasn't my type and that bothered me because if someone I had so much in common with was not my type, then who is my type?

I don't believe in types, but I do notice commonalities in all the men I seriously date.

I have questions:

I'm still trying to figure this all out, and every time I think I have an answer something throws me off.

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: queasy
Escuchando: passing by - zero 7

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star