la maravillosa luz
01.05.05 // 1:59 a.m.


Luz, mi mam�

A little after I was born my mom�s best friend, Terry, came over to visit and see me. Of course, I don�t remember that visit, but my mom does. Some time when I was old enough to understand what the word meant, my mom told me about Terry�s prediction that I would grow up to be a heartbreaker.

Last August I returned to Guanajuato, my father�s home state, for the first time in over ten years. Instead of bringing live, breathing parents, brothers and sisters along with me, I brought family photos to give to my t�os and t�a abuelas.

My uncles and aunts marveled at how grown my siblings and I were, how grey my dad�s hair had become and how good we all looked in the photos. The comment I heard � and stuck out � most was �te pareces tanto a t� mam� (you look so much like your mom).

I�m sure I do look like my mom. I have to since half my genetic makeup comes from her, but I never thought I was as pretty as her. I didn't have boys lining up to ask me to dance at los bailes and I certainly wasn't a heartbreaker. That didn't bug me much though. In fact, I'd be happy just to have some of her qualities that you can't see by just looking at her.

She has amazed me for over 24 years with her intelligence, strength, compassion, talent, faith, determination and creativity.

I wrote last year on her birthday about her name, Luz, fitting perfectly. It wasn�t only because she was born right before el D�a de los Tres Reyes (or Epiphany). I sincerely believe that my mom radiates light and energy.

Today is her 48th birthday. Whenever January 5th comes around I feel even more blessed that I have a close relationship with my mom. It's nice.

�Feliz Cumplea�os, Mom!

Comments: 5 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: cool
Escuchando: "disintegration" by the cure

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star