luz de mi vida
01.05.04 // 5:39 p.m.

Estas son las ma�anitas que cantaba el rey David... and so on. If I would've woken up any time earlier than noon, I certainly would have called my mom and sang that to her. She's 47 today. �Feliz cumplea�os, Mom!

She was born one day before el D�a de los Tres Reyes (the Feast of the Epiphany, I think), which is exactly why she was named Mar�a de la Luz. It's funny too because she hates being in dark rooms, and really does brighten up people's lives. It took me years to figure out that the Luz in her name referred to the star that the three wise men followed to find the baby Jesus.

I love my mom, a lot. Last night she taught me how to make champurrado, a drink with chocolate, masa and canela. It's incredibly rich but oh so yummy. She also did some grocery shopping for me and while I was in the bay knitted a scarf and hat for Ozomatli Chi'Boogie (the monkey I gave to Will but is currently in my custody).

She's the woman who carried me for 8.5 months (I got out early, ha!) and has really been there for me whenever I needed her. I don't know what I love the most about her, perhaps the way she brightens up my life and the life of others.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hungry
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star