Lineage
08.02.02 // 2:05 p.m.

Ooh, I love this subject. I wish I could know a little more about it, though. Thanks to a good Friday Five topic.

1. What is your lineage? Where are your ancestors from?
It depends how far you go back. My mother�s side of the family is from Zacatecas, M�xico, a state in central M�xico known for its mines. It�s currently one of the states with the most immigrants in the US right now. You have whole towns in Zacatecas connected to towns here in California. My father�s side of the family is from Guanajuato, M�xico, which is pretty close to Zacatecas (a little farther south). This is the same state where Diego Rivera is from. Anyway, I know that for sure my lineage is Mexican Indians and Spanish (I can�t deny it). My mom says that on her side of the family we�re part French, but I doubt it. If you look at us, you can see the Indio in us. So, I have a very strong connection to M�xico, but the only real connection I have to Spain is through the language (which I speak much differently than they do).

I can trace my lineage back about 6 generations on my maternal side. On the other sides, however, I can only go back about 4 generations. I would like to know specifically which indigenous heritage I have (perhaps Huichol).

2. Of those countries, which would you most like to visit?
Hands down, it would be M�xico. I haven�t been to Zacatecas or Guanajuato in more than 10 years. I know it�s changed a lot since I�ve been there, but I still would like to go. I want to be in the places where my parent�s were born and spent the early years of their lives. Plus, when I stay at my grandparent�s house in Zacatecas, I always feel spoiled. Guanajuato is a very nice state too, a lot of history there. There is so much more of M�xico I�d like to see. I think I�d even like to live there for some part of my life (perhaps do some of my graduate studies there). Oh yeah, I have lots of family over there I�d like to see too.

3. Which would you least like to visit? Why?
Well, I only really have Spain and M�xico, I don�t even count my [supposed] French ancestry. I wouldn�t mind visiting Espa�a, but it certainly would not be my first priority.

4. Do you do anything during the year to celebrate or recognize your heritage?
I don�t celebrate Cinco de Mayo, but I do celebrate Mexican Independence Day on September 16th. I also, celebrate Indigenous Peoples� Day (otherwise known as Columbus Day) on October 12th. Instead of celebrating the start of the colonization of the Americas, I acknowledge the 5 centuries of continuing resistance on indigenous peoples� parts. But, in reality, my heritage is a huge part of my identity, so it isn�t something that I just bring up a couple of times a year and dance a few dances, have margaritas, tacos and listen to mariachi music. It�s in me, and if I ever forget it, then I know that I�ve definitely sold out, assimilated, and forgotten my roots. I could write pages upon pages on this, but I won�t. The point is, that I LIVE my heritage and ancestry.

5. Who were the first ancestors to move to your present country (parents, grandparents, etc)?
You know, I�m not actually sure about this. I know my Grandma (on my dad�s side) was born in the US sometime in the 1920s. Her family had moved to the US to work, particularly on the railroads in Nebraska. However, even before that my Mam� Toni�s family (grandmother on mom�s side) had lived in Southern California, also working. I think they left during the Mexican Revolution, but both families returned to M�xico. So� hmmm, I guess to actually make the permanent move to the US the first family to do it was my Mom�s side of the family (in the mid 1960s), but its all blurry since between M�xico and the US going back and forth used to be so much easier. I�m actually, the first generation born in the US (if you don�t count my Grandma), but since my parents grew up here, I would be in the 1.5 generation.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: relaxed
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star