La Mariposa and food
04.12.02 // 12:35 a.m.

TGIF! Another Friday Five for you.

1. What is your favorite restaurant and why?
Without even thinking twice, I know it�s La Mariposa in West Covina, California. I love this place not just because of its name (it means butterfly en espa�ol), or because of the great Mexican food there, but also because of all the memories. I got a lot of emotional ties to this place. It was my family�s regular Sunday brunch spot after 8 am Mass with Grandma and Grandpa for most of my childhood. I celebrated a birthday or two there and daydreamed about going there with a future date and sitting at the table near the fireplace. A friend of my parents owns the restaurant and one of the former waitresses there, Mary, is my mom�s best friend. Going there was always pleasant because everyone knew us. After brunch we (me and the siblings) would bug the adults for quarters and hit up the two video games, Ms. Pac Man and Galaga. Whenever I pass by it on the freeway I always point it out to my friends and get a little sad. I feel weird going back without my grandparents.

2. What fast food restaurant are you partial to?
In-n-out, which is a California staple, especially in the LA area. I feel sorry for all those who�ve never tried an In-n-out cheeseburger �animal style.� If you�re a vegetarian, a grilled cheese sandwich is also a good choice.

3. What are your standards and rules for tipping?
I try to be fair and stick to the 15% rule, so I just double the tax, but a lot of the times the tax is already included when I go out to dinner because I go in big groups.

4. Do you usually order an appetizer and/or dessert?
Nope. I�m cheap plus I usually have no room left to eat after my entr�e.

5. What do you usually order to drink at a restaurant?
If I want to be cheap, water. Other times anything besides soda, orange juice and lemonade are usually pretty good choices. If I�m at a Cuban restaurant like Versailles, I�ll order a mango batido (shake).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star