static me
06.08.05 // 11:20 p.m.

Back in 2002 I signed up for weekly updates and airfare alerts from Hotwire, Travelocity, and Southwest Airlines. I was fresh out of college and in my first "real" job. I had money, vacation time, people to visit, and friends who wanted to travel too.

I had a strong desire to just get up and leave this city whenever I felt like it. And I satisfied it.

I took roadtrips to San Diego. I flew and drove up to the Bay. I embarked on my 2003 Big City Tour to check out cities where I might want to relocate to when it came time to start my graduate studies.

The trips came like clockwork in late 2002. Prior to that my trips were all to the Bay (for good reason), but I branched out after the breakup. I traveled within and outside of my state.

San Diego. New York. Chicago. Atlanta. Portland, Seattle, and Vancouver. San Francisco & Oakland. San Francisco (& Oakland, but I just slept there). Boston and Cambridge. San Francisco and Oakland (for NYE). Detroit and Ann Arbor. San Francisco, Oakland and Berkeley. Mazatl�n, Guanajuato, and Mexico City.

The frequent trips ended. I haven't been to an airport since I returned from Mexico on my birthday last year. I've taken a few roadtrips to Las Vegas and San Diego (but SD barely even counts).

My meager income as a graduate student doesn't allow me much freedom to just pick up and go visit a friend across the country because I feel like it. My weekends are no longer as free as they once were when I was working full time.

I miss travelling immensely. I was in San Diego last week and really enjoyed being in a city that I don't know very well even though I've been there dozens of time to visit family and friends.

I keep getting these notices from Hotwire, Travelocity, and Southwest Airlines about deals they have. I just delete them rather than visit the sites to see what they have to offer and get my hopes up. It'd be nice to see Vane, the ex-roomie, again as well as finally reunite Ozo with his dad, Will, and check out a Cubs game.

Comments: 5 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: listless
Escuchando: nocturna on kcrw

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star