playing catch is dangerous
06.05.05 // 5:49 p.m.

My face hurts.

Well, only the left side, and it's all Alfred's fault.

It was his bright idea to bring gloves and a baseball to the park. We should have been playing baby shower games with Chris and Kristen and their guests.

But, no... Alfred, wanted to play catch, and so did I.

I love playing catch, even if I "throw like a girl." I like running around in the grass barefoot. I love the sound of the ball hitting the leather.

Alfred and I were doing well, until he threw one dangerously close to my head. I wasn't worried. I can catch, or so I thought. I think the ball hit the glove and then hit my face. Or maybe the ball never hit the glove and I simply misjudged it.

It doesn't matter. The ball still hit my face.

The first thing I thought, 'Shit! I really hope it didn't hit my eye. How am I supposed to write my papers if I can only see out of one eye? Hello, extensions!'

Then I realized that I got lucky and the area that was throbbing and starting to hurt enough to draw a couple of involuntary tears was the area surrounding my cheekbone. I got lucky the ball missed my eye by about an inch. I didn't really want a shiner or problems with my left eye. If it did hit my eye, I might have finally been able to get those glasses I've always wanted.

Alfred felt really bad and I kept telling him it wasn't his fault. It's just an accident. Lori came over with VR to see what had happened. She went and got me a can of 7-Up to prevent swelling. We said goodbye to our friends, explained that I was on the DL and needed to get home.

Hopefully I don't get an ugly bruise. So far, there's very little swelling.

Ouch.

Comments: 7 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hurt
Escuchando: i don't care - king chang�

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star