quantity, quality, and longevity
06.27.05 // 12:03 p.m.

21st birthday party My senior quote in high school was something from one of A. A. Milne's Winnie the Pooh books "Friendship," said Pooh, "is a very comforting sort of thing."

I find that quote as rather ironic now since I hardly talk to any of my "best friends" from high school or my pre-UCLA life in general. There was never a falling out or any sort of moment when I no longer wanted to talk to Janine, Tricia, Adriana, Zack, Linh or high school friends anymore. It just sort of happened. I went to UCLA, and realized that although those were good friendships, they were very surface level. Suddenly, I was living and spending all day with my new friends. We were going through tough periods of transition. Seven years later, I am still closer to any of those college friends than to any of the high school friends. It's tough catching people up (and being caught up) on 7 years of one's life.

Between the two, I wonder how much they drank Danny, my older brother by about 15 months, is my opposite. We're different in a whole lot of ways, but the friendship one sticks out to me more than the fact that we have different tastes in music. His friendship experiences remind me of a song I used to sing as a Brownie in Girl Scouts.

Make new friends, but keep the old
One is silver, and the other's gold

Danny is still best friends with several friends he's known since elementary school. I constantly changed friends as I went from one transition to the other. I attribute that partly to tracking. I was placed in different classes, took up different activities, and suddenly didn't see the people I went to school with earlier.

Las Madrinas My brother loses very few friends. Instead, he just adds on. His is a cumulative friendship system while mine goes in waves measured both by quantity, quality and longevity.

Me and Nahui Right now, I'm at a high point. I've realized in the last few days that I am truly blessed with the friends in my circle (yes, I consider you blogeros y blogeras as part of that circle). Even when I put them in difficult situations and do something selfish, I find comfort in the fact that I have several amigas y amigos I can turn to for help (and man, I need a lot of help).

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: guilty
Escuchando: when it falls - zero 7

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star