grad nite and day
06.21.05 // 9:49 p.m.

Sleeping Beauty Castle I feel like I just graduated high school.

Why?

Well, I went to Grad Nite at Disneyland on Thursday with Isa. She needed someone to take Daniel's spot as her co-chaperone on bus #5 (Of 14! Belmont is a huge school). I became the (in)significant other for the night since Daniel backed out.

Melina and Angel couldn't hack it I decided to go despite already having pulled two allnighters last week. I figured a third one wouldn't kill me and sleeping at night is generally overrated. Plus, I had been wanting to go to Disneyland lately because I hadn't been there since December 1999, but $53 for admission is kinda steep.

Class of 2005 in a blur Anyway, Isa and I hung out with a bunch of 17/18 year olds, went on one ride (Star Tours), took a bunch of pictures, watched part of Mary Poppins (am I a nerd if I know a lot of the songs and dialogue?), did a little bit of shopping, snacked on fruit, and checked out the cute young teachers in the chaperone lounge.

Who knew Disneyland sold handcuffs? Disneyland hooks up the chaperones with free meals, snacks and movies. If you sign up and they have time, you can get a massage or a drawing of the Disney character of your choice. Isa and I weren't lucky enough to get a massage, but we did get pre-drawn sketchings of Lilo and Piglet. Even though the night was tiring and a little frustrating (damn kids who were not on the bus at 6 a.m. and made us wait 40 minutes), I still had fun.

Ross and the sign When I graduated high school, I had a summer break, but I also had to go back to school in the fall. The first milestone (the MA) was important, but it wasn't my objective. Still, I decided to walk on Saturday because earning an MA is a big deal for me, my family and Raza in general. I read something while writing a paper last week that 2% of Chicanas/os have an advanced degree (G�ndara, 1986). UCLA is mine! Sure, that figure is from 1986, but I don't think it's changed too much considering only 4 out of 100 Latinos in California will earn a BA. So, I didn't want to take earning an MA for granted.

Ome, Isa and Cindy I also walked because I have a strange idea of "fun." For me, dressing up in a black gown with funky sleeves, putting on a blue and gold sash, and donning a funky hat is fun. Also, two of my best friends would be earning their masters in education and participating in the ceremony too, so I thought it would be fun to join.

Pedro showed up on Mexican time The ceremony on Saturday was fantastic. I've been to lots of graduations, but I think this one was the most inspiring. One of the two student speakers blew me away and drew a tear or two. True, soy chillona, but his speech was that good. I was lucky that the department chair pronounced my last name right. I spelled my last name phonetically, mos-KEH-dah, and she got it right. I sang "Hail to Hills of Westwood" loud and with a lot of pride because I love UCLA and it reminded me of my days in band when we'd sing the alma mater after each game.

My family representatives: Danny and Adrian I have a huge family, but I only let my parents, siblings and grandparents know I was graduating. Lori had to work. My parents were in Atlanta. Danny and Adrian showed up as the mos-KEH-dah family representatives. I didn't mind too much that only my brothers were there.

Commencement '05 My family better not miss out on the next graduation... it'll be the last.

More Grad Nite and graduation photos.

Source:
G�ndara, P. (1986). Chicanos in higher education: The politics of self-interest. American Journal of Education, 95(1), 256-272.

Comments: 9 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hot
Escuchando: no dejes que - caifanes

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star