por alto est� el cielo en el mundo
06.19.05 // 3:37 p.m.

31 things I did this week:

  1. Had study hall at A's and wondered what the weird moaning sound in a neighboring apartment was. I said it was Chewbaca tied up in the closet.
  2. Wrote a paper on Chicana/o and Latina/o students and disengagement.
  3. Stayed on campus all night working on #2.
  4. Pulled a second all nighter Tuesday/Wednesday writing a paper on outreach (aka academic preparation or intervention) programs.
  5. Finished the quarter and first year in my program.
  6. Avoided blogging and fell behind on reading others' blogs.
  7. Replied to email just 'cause I was bored with my papers.
  8. Read lots of articles as pdf files on my computer.
  9. Went to four restaurants before finally being able to have dinner with Ome.
  10. Watched Finding Neverland and loved it.
  11. Read Las Batallas en el Desierto by Jos� Emilio Pacheco. Caf� Tacuba's Las Batallas is based on the book. I recommend both the song and the book.
  12. Tried to get the May haiku in order so I could finally post them.
  13. Picked up my cap and gown.
  14. Stopped by work to "work" and then celebrated a cool professor getting tenure with US students.
  15. Tried Red Bull for the first time.
  16. Tripped over my own pajama pants and fell in the kitchen. Ouch.
  17. Gave/received a pep talk from/to Machuca.
  18. Laughed at HP's misadventures driving from Monterrey to McAllen, Texas and kinda missed his punkass.
  19. Assured the woman who waxed my eyebrows that I was Mexican and not Japanese.
  20. Felt an earthquake and enjoyed it.
  21. Missed my parents (they're in Atlanta).
  22. Went to Disneyland for Grad Nite with Isabel and ran into people I knew from my former high school in the chaperone lounge.
  23. Pulled allnighter #3 for the week (sleeping at night is so overrated).
  24. Hung out with my cohort for a final end of the year gathering.
  25. Enjoyed a beautiful day on Friday for the first time in the week.
  26. Attended my first Muslim wedding and saw some of the MSA sisters without their scarves for the first time in years that I've known them.
  27. Was reunited with some of my favorite CPO slackers, Kim, Arshad and Cheryl.
  28. Went home for a little bit to play with the puppy, chat with the sister and check out the new carpeting.
  29. Went to East LA for Isa's graduation party.
  30. Graduated.
  31. Really, really, really loved the poem Kris wrote for me, hailunares.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: amused
Escuchando: las batallas - caf� tacuba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star