hella good
06.19.04 // 11:03 p.m.

A simple random sample of what is going on in my head:

A friend of mine recommended the book Moneyball: The Art of Winning and Unfair Game. He didn't even know that I've secretly longed to be a baseball statistician since 1997 when I took my first statistics class with Mr. Tabor. I'm loving this book even if my roommates look at me weird and Will calls me a nerd.

I spoke to my financial advisor, also known as my Dad, and figured out that I can survive off of my savings. I'm not going to work this summer, but I have so many other things that will keep me busy.

I went jogging at the park with Ome today. I realized how out of shape I was, but it felt so good. As we jogged around the perimeter and baseball diamonds I thought of how much I wanted to play catch, go to a Dodger game, or a Little League game.

My cousin, Ren�, is the greatest. The day after his 21st birthday, July 22nd, we're heading down to San Diego to watch two of our favorite bands in concert: Caf� Tacvba and Maldita Vecindad. Ren� is great only because he's fronting the money (I'll repay him) for a ticket and because without him I would've never known about the concert.

I saw El Gran Silencio at the House of Blues last Tuesday. Throughout most of the concert, I kept thinking about him. Especially during "La Chicana" when they sang, "ya me voy para Califas / para ver a m� Chicana."

For the past 5 years, Father's Day has been overshadowed by the graduations at UCLA, but I think this year I might not go to the ceremony. I know plenty of people graduating, but driving all the way to UCLA after the family gathering at my cousin Tony's - a relatively new father himself - house in El Monte seems like a pain.

My Dad is amazing. That's not a word I use very often, but for my father it is fitting. I'll dedicate an entire entry to him. A little blurb here isn't enough.

I went out last night to the Little Temple and finally met my friend, Tony, the dj. I wasn't surprised that I really enjoyed what he was spinning. We have pretty similar music taste. Meeting him wasn't weird. I guess we know enough about each other to that we seemed like two old friends running into each other at the club rather than two people who know each other as fonts.

I don't mind being somewhere with a lot of people and being alone.

I was supposed to go to beach today, hang out with the beautiful cousins and crazy siblings. I didn't. I woke up at 2 pm when my Dad called. By the time I got out of my apartment it was 9 p.m. The beach closes at 10.

I'm currently wearing the huipil my mom bought for me the last time she was in Guanajuato 3 years ago. That was also the time I was supposed to go but didn't because of money. Wearing a huipil makes me feel more Mexican (hehe).

Pato told me that there are two things we'll never have in common: the fact that I "like them pink" and love baseball and baseball statistics.

The Dodgers better win tomorrow. I really dislike the Yankees, even if they have my favorite player ever, Alex Rodriguez, on their team.

The Cure makes me so incredibly happy. It's just adding on to this really good mood I'm in.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: really good
Escuchando: "friday i'm in love" by the cure

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star