los altos donde viv�
06.13.04 // 11:19 p.m.

I don't think I want to see another dime for at least a month. If you need to give me change, just use quarters and nickels.

I worked the dime toss at the annual Early California Days carnival at SJV (my home parish in the Heights). My parents volunteered to be in charge of one of the busiest game booths. I didn't know how much work was involved. If I wasn't giving someone a $1 in dimes, I was picking up dimes off the floor, handing people the glasses/bowls/mugs/etc they won, or re-stocking the tables.

Honestly, I didn't mind the work. The 3-4 hours I was there last night and tonight went by quickly. I didn't even mind getting little nicks and cuts on my hands from opening up boxes of glassware and handling chipped items.

It all evened out, because it was nice to see people I rarely see (some guy remembered me from high school confirmation classes, he looked good too!). A second plus, was just the look of glee on the faces of kids (young and old) when they'd win. It was even better to have a newfound appreciation for the community I grew up in.

I often dismiss the Heights as just another suburb in Los Angeles County. It's more than that. It's incredibly diverse, beautiful, peaceful (I guess some might consider this boring), and full of people who care.

It's a nice place to grow up... even if it means that your friends from East LA will tease you about your socioeconomic status (Chicanas/os aren't supposed to be middle class) and a well-known Chicano historian calls it the "Mexican Beverly Hills" in one of his books.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tired
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star