chicana grad students rock
06.11.05 // 4:46 p.m.

I'm in finals mode... which means that I'm avoiding the papers I should be writing, the regression results I should be analyzing and the articles I still need to read.

Oh joy.

However, I wanted to share a wonderful site I found a few months ago, Chicanas on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough. Any site that has Chicana Skies by Quetzal playing in the background has to be cool.

The women who run the site, Jackie and Raquel, are two "dissertating Chicanas." In their introduction, they explain one of the purposes of the site:

All this is to explain that this website is for Jackie and I to write about our Chicana experiences as Ph.D. candidates who try to maintain some sort of balance. We are grad students with ambitious dreams of becoming professors and mentoring future Chicana/o college graduates. We are also women who find something funny and interesting, absurd and disheartening, about most everything we do and observe--be it on a bart ride to "the city," a day trip to Puerto Nuevo, a night dancing at one of our favorite salsa clubs, or a long day at work or on campus or with family.

I have an intellectual crush on these women. They're smart, creative, funny, and down with the brown... hehe. Anyway, check out some of the ingenious top ten lists:

  1. Ways to procrastinate while working on your dissertation

  2. Problematic remarks men make to Chicana graduate students

  3. Reasons to go to grad school (from an ethnic studies perspective)

  4. Chicana grad student must haves

I'm loving the must haves list the most. I have 9 of the 10 things they suggest to have. Guess which one I'm missing. There's a prize involved.

Comments: 9 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: antsy
Escuchando: chicana skies - quetzal

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star