the heat
07.06.04 // 7:50 p.m.

I want to write something, yet I really don't know what. So... I will tell you about how I argued with my father about Fahrenheit 9/11. My mom was interested in seeing it, but he wasn't. He started spouting off all sorts of things about the film that I only assume he heard on some conservative or even moderate radio show. He said it wasn't positive and just sought to put the blame on someone or some group of people for the shit that has happened since the horrors of that day.

It was actually a pretty heated discussion. Not where we got angry, but we just couldn't see each other's view points, or we didn't want to. It was to make the siblings joke, "you're trying to argue politics with Cindy?! You're gonna get burned, Chacho." (That's Adrian's endearing nickname for our father).

What the hell is positive about corruption, war and terrorism? Nothing?! Of course the film is going to have a slant. I know what Moore is seeking to do, he's trying to get Bush out of office.

I think what got to me the most was his unwillingness to even see it and challenge that which he sees on the network news, listens to on mainstream radio stations, and reads in the papers. It's that unwillingness to see things as they really are.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: full
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star