like an island in the sun
07.20.04 // 11:25 p.m.

These past few days have further cemented by belief that I am only comfortable in weather between 60 and 80 degrees. Anything below or above that makes me feel cold or too hot. Before, I was probably okay with weather up to 90 degrees, but living in West LA and going to UCLA (where it�s typically 10-15 degrees cooler than the Heights which is 30 miles east) has spoiled me.

Oh yeah, I also don�t do much outdoor activity aside from taking walks and jogging in the evenings. In the hottest month of the year � August � I used to go to band camp for 4 hours each morning and 3 more in the evening. I did that for four years and then 2 more in college, but it was usually a bit cooler at UCLA.

I don�t go to band camp anymore (please, I don�t need to hear that line) and for the past few years I�ve spent most of the summers working in a nice air conditioned office. I�m deathly afraid of being sun burnt and not a big fan of the sun.

So, my tolerance for heat has considerably waned. On the flip side, I don�t get cold as quickly now that I know what "real" cold is after trips to Boston, New York and Chicago in late fall and winter.

Still� it�s almost 100 degrees out during the hottest points of the day and I don�t think it�s that bad. Just let me sit in the shade and read or swim in the pool. Anything else will make me melt.


My wonderful older brother took a fieldtrip with the kids he works with in summer day camp at the Y to Hollywood today. The shopping center near the Kodak Theater has a Build-a-Bear Workshop. He bought this Dodgers uniform for his "nephew." Will, my monkey's daddy wasn't happy and insists he needs to be wearing a Cubs uniform. Yeah right.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hot
Escuchando: maladroit by weezer

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star