spaces and places you been, time travelin
07.19.04 // 12:27 a.m.

I'm still not sure I'm excited about going back to school at UCLA. Six years down and four/five more to go. The past six have been hella good though. That school treats me well.

Oh yeah, I still think I have too many friends who are teachers. Damn Chicanas/os and our desire to reform the educational system.

A glimpse of my life at UCLA. Check the links for pictures.

1998-1999

I started off in August doing a summer program. I met most of my best friends here. The photo is a group shot of the people who lived on my floor, 3 north. Two points if you can find me, Chispa, Isa, Vane, Sandra, and Pato.

1999-2000

A few days before fall quarter finals, Chispa, Isa, Pato and I went down to campus on a Saturday. I don't really know the reason why, but Isa had her camera and started snapping up photos of us goofing off at the Women's Dance Building and in the plaza between the Dance Building and the Men's Gym.

Photos like this remind me of why I love LA in December.

Pato, Chispa, and Me
I know, I know... we're dorks

2000-2001

I don't know what we were doing here and why no one was paying attention in the group shot at the fall MEChA orientation.

Smiles all around of a successful year. Left to right: Nahui, Chispa, Li'i, Isa, Pato and Me.

A huge chunk of UCLA's Affirmative Action Coalition feeling great after we heard the UC Regents rescinded SP-1 at their May meeting in San Francisco.

The two Pattys.

The night I won my election, I really loved my campaign manager (Isa), my signboard artist (Nancy), and the hardworking Mechistas who campaigned for me and the other SE! candidates.

Las mujeres after I was sworn in at convocation. Left to right: Claudex (my old boss), Vane, me, Isa, Liz A., Monica, Lil' Vane, Ome, and Li'i. The teachers in that photo? Vane, Isa and Ome. That's 3 teachers.

Me and Theo, the two SE! general reps. We shared an office that was in Old School.

2001-2002

Chispa, me, Victor and Mar�a at my 21st birthday party.

The guys, and Danya at a Shakey's fundraiser dinner. Left to right: Eligio, Angel (in the jersey), Jos� (seated), Andy, Danya, Irvin and Allende. Angel just finished his first year teaching and Jos� will begin a program for math teachers this fall. Allende wants to teach too. (Three more, that makes six.)

Gabriel and Jonathan, the soccer players. Jonathan teaches at the same school as Victor. (Seven).

Victor and Jo Anna at the 1st annual Thankstaking dinner. (Both teach). Nine.

See, I told you I had too many teacher friends... and this leaves out a lot of people.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: happy
Escuchando: "dust" by van hunt

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star