me a postive influence?
07.12.05 // 6:29 p.m.

I'm taking the questions as I get them.

An anonymous reader asked:

How does it feel to be a positive influence on so many people thru this blog?

Honestly, if that's the case, then I feel pretty good and still a bit surprised that what I write here influences (and positively at that!) my readers.

I mentioned earlier that I was a counselor to several college students. They came to me with all kinds of issues. There were students I would see only one time and then there were the ones I would see a few times a quarter for the two years that I directed the program. The latter were the students I really got to know.

The position was never intended to be permanent. In fact, I struggled a little even deciding I wanted to work for a second year at the center. I decided to return, but also knew that I would help select a new director and come June 30 I would fulfill the terms of my contract.

By the end of the spring quarter, most of my students knew that I would be leaving the program to return to school. If they were not graduating, they would get a new counselor.

I had some tearful "last sessions" with students. There was one student in particular who helped me realize how I influenced him.

I know counseling students privately and maintaining a public blog are very different. Still, knowing that you're positively influencing someone makes writing pretty worthwhile.

[Note: feel free to ask a question. Leave a comment or email at citlalli31ATgmailDOTcom if you prefer to ask something anonymously.]

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: good (i have candy!)
Escuchando: tema amores perros - amores perros soundtrack

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star