on schools and shutting out noise
07.18.03 // 5:30 p.m.

Of course, more questions from Jason. I swear, I'm going to write something about my Pacific Northwest tour, just give me a minute.

Where do you go to shut out the noise?
To escape do you meditate or play with toys?

Where did you go to school? How were the teachers?
Were you considered cool?

Where do you go to shut out the noise?
I usually shut out noise with more noise, rather it's music. If I really want to get away from people I leave the house, apartment or office and go somewhere. I like to be in my car alone, with the windows rolled up, and my favorite CD of the moment in the CD player. For more quiet, I'll go for a walk or a jog at the track near my apartment. If I'm on campus and I just want to get away from it all, I got to a secluded bridge between a parking lot and a museum. It's nice.

To escape do you meditate or play with toys?
I play with some type of toy whether it be my pens, my car, or my CD's. I can't just meditate and remain that calm or quiet for so long. I need to be doing something besides just breathing and thinking.

Where did you go to school?
I attended the following:
Glenelder Elementary, in the Heights
Cedarlane Junior High, in the Heights
G. A. Wilson High School, in the Heights
UCLA

As you can see, I never moved around.

How were the teachers?
For the most part, my K-12 education was filled with teachers who really pushed me to work at my potential. I had a few who are more memorable for being too strict or making me cry, but most of those I recall are the outstanding ones like Mr. Adams and Mr. Tabor whom I wrote about here.

Were you considered cool?
I doubt it, but I know I wasn't considered a dork. I was just in the middle. That and I was the token smart Chicana.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: eh, i got a headache
Escuchando: "where do we go?" by talib kweli feat. res

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star