on the irony of death
04.09.03 // 7:46 p.m.

The irony of death is that when someone dies, you learn something about how life should be lived. Cindy R's death has taught me a lot of how I want to live my life. Last night, I attended a prayer service. I got there late, but just in time for the remembrances, it was beautiful. Honestly, I didn't know Cindy R too well, but I knew her well enough to like her and know that she was special. Plus, when you see the effect on everyone who was close to her, you know that people like Cindy R are rare.

I can learn a lot from Cindy R In being critical and knowing my faults, I know that I'm petty and sometimes too stubborn to forgive those who have wronged me (even a little). I've been thinking that I should just get things out in the open, tell people how I feel and at least know that I made that effort. I've been wanting to call the Redhead lately. I hate the fact that a once great relationship is in such a sorry state.

Another thing that I've learned from Cindy R is that she loved with all her heart. This love was more than just a feeling though, it was about the action. I know I should infuse love into everything I do, even when it's hard, I'm tired and fighting disillusionment.

I've written in here, that the reason I put so much time and effort into working with the Chicana/o and Latina/o community is because I truly love my people.

Last, I need to learn to see the beauty and talent in everyone I meet, even if it's hard. For some people, it's very easy to see what strengths, talents, and experience they bring to the group. But then, there are the situations in which you have to look a little more and dig for those hidden talents. When you find this talent, you have to make other's use it. I know I need to do this, especially since in my position its crucial if I want to develop my staff and build leadership.

For example, I'm turned off by the exuberance and enthusiasm (sometimes a little too much) of Eric, one of my staff members. His loud voice, fast speech and over exuberance clashed with my more mellow attitude and quiet approach to things. I need to find better ways to make that a strength. Eric has a lot of good ideas, I just need to be a little tolerant of the fact that he's loud.

These are just three little things I learned in the last few days in celebrating Cindy R's life.

Thanks, Cindy R for teaching me how to live my life a little better, and the meaning of true love. Your beautiful smile will be missed.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: thankful
Escuchando: everybody loves raymond

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star