inequities
01.15.03 // 11:48 p.m.

Did you see this? Dubya's opinion on affirmative action seems pretty ill informed and idiotic to me. Dubya's press guy was talking about quotas which were banned by the Supreme Court almost 25 years ago in the Bakke v. Regents of the University of California case.

He is not my president, not my president, not my president!

When people think about affirmative action, they often bring up things like quotas and throw out buzz words like "reverse discrimination" to argue against it. It may be 2003, but we still don't live in a color blind society.

Yeah, I know I have a very biased opinion, but you still would think that the president of this country would know just a little about admissions policy in this country. Currently, the U of Michigan gives points for underrepresented students in the admissions process. So, if I applied, I'd get points just for checking off whatever box (probably "Hispanic") that I fit into. I'm all for affirmative action, even though I know it falls short of really addressing inequities in education. At least at some point there's a chance to make up for years of institutionalized racism.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: disgusted
Escuchando: adrian play fifa for playstation

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star