Hypocrites
06.11.02 // 9:00 p.m.

The headline of the editorial in last Thursday's edition of the Daily Bruin:

Empowerment! still playing petty games

Below that was some article on why the new council members from SE! suck. Nothing surprising, but it still got to me. Especially when I glanced to the column to the left.

Top 5 Year�s Best at UCLA

1. Karren Lane and Student Empowerment!

While the Editorial Board may disagree with their politics and methods of achieving change on campus, they represent the opposite of undergraduate student apathy.

USAC President Karren Lane and the council members are the only students willing to stand up for what they believe in, and sponsor protests, demonstrations, and teach-ins to educate their fellow students. They take an active role in educating themselves about important social problems, and while they may make mistakes throughout the year, they are the ideal students should mold themselves after to combat apathy.

The council could not have been what it was this year had Lane acted like previous presidents from the Empowerment!/Praxis slate. Instead, she has been rationale and fair to every member on council, which is what we have come to expect from an effective leader.

I felt like kicking someone after reading that. Seriously they hate on us all year long for speaking our voices and doing what needs to be done, but then at the end of the year they give us props? Please. The editorial board is a bunch of fuckin� hypocrites.

I wonder what they would say if they found out about the new president�s nepotism. Hey, if I date his ugly ass can I get appointed to any important committee that I want? From my own �neutral� boss� mouth, �I wonder what head he�s thinking with� when he heard that Dave wanted to appoint his girlfriend to the Board of Directors of the Associated Students of UCLA (a $70 million nonprofit corporation run by students, for students).

You know, it really hasn�t hit me that as soon as I get in the final for Chicana/o Studies 101 I am done, through, finished, etc. Still trying to make it to the finish line. I took a break somewhere past the 12th lap a few hours back. Two down, one to go. No more racial formation of a �white� identity through structure and culture or Chicana feminism in The House on Mango Street.

Wish me luck.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: anxious
Escuchando: "Tart" by Elvis Costello

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star