hella busy
05.07.03 // 6:30 p.m.

I forgot I had this thing. No, I lie, I remember. But everytime I want to write, I can't... and it's not because Diaryland won't let me add an entry. It's because I don't have a computer around, or when I do I have to do something else on it, like WORK!

Yeah, I've been hella busy lately and still I don't feel like I'm getting much done, or that I'm not doing it as effectively as I should be.

In the last week, I've sat in on about 25 interviews for staff for the upcoming school year. I've been part of the hiring committee before, but never as director and it did not seem this hard last time I did it. There weren't so many applicants, and there were less who were really qualified. It was easy to choose the staff.

This year, we had an abundance of well qualified applicants, so we chose the best, but at the same time I felt horrible because there were people I know would have done a really good job on staff but that we couldn't hire because all of our spaces were already filled (damn budget cuts!). I kind of would not mind something similar to occur this summer that occurred last year. Last summer, two of the people who had been hired in the spring had to leave or chose to leave the staff and we had to call on our alternates. One alternate became a peer counselor and next year will be the peer counseling coordinator. The second alternate became our administrative assistant. I love that girl and am ecstatic that she'll be my mentorship coordinator next year. Sigh... you know the worst thing about this whole hiring process aside from the time it took out of my schedule and having to turn away some really great folks? It's the fact that most of the staff that I've finally gotten accustomed to is leaving. I've finally learned how to manage them all, and now I'll have to relearn it with a new staff. Plus, there aren't any people on the new staff that I was as close to as Chispa or could count on to hold things up while I was gone like Angel. Ugh... that's another thing, I selected an assistant director that I can barely get along with. Don't ask.

Oh yes, one of those interviews was my own. I had to reapply, and guess what? I got the job again... surprise surprise!

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: eh
Escuchando: "where do we go" by talib kweli

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star