Good Friday
03.29.02 // 7:39 p.m.

A lighthearted entry for Good Friday courtesy of Friday Five. I need something to balance out the heavy stuff I�ve been writing lately.

1. If you could eat dinner with and "get to know" one famous person (living or dead), who would you choose?
Cosme from Caf� Tacuba because I have this fascination with the band and anything related to M�xico City.

2. Has the death of a famous person ever had an effect on you? Who was it and how did you feel?
I was pretty bummed when Princess Diana died on my 17th birthday. It was just really surreal to see someone that graceful and beautiful die so tragically. I also felt really bad for Prince William and Prince Harry because they lost their mother and still they had to mourn her in front of millions of people.

3. If you could BE a famous person for 24 hours, who would you choose?Selma Hayek, but when she was filming In the Time of the Butterflies or the Frida Kahlo movie �cause she had some fabulous roles.

4. Do people ever tell you that you look like someone famous? Who?
In high school I supposedly looked like Neve Campbell but the people who told me that were on crack.

5. Have you ever met anyone famous?
Yup, I live in LA, its pretty much a given that you�ll run into someone famous. I have pretty good luck because of my involvement at school, too. I met Carlos Santana and his wife, Deborah, last year when they accepted the C�sar E. Ch�vez Spirit Award for their work with the Milagro Foundation. I was too star struck to really do anything but pose for the picture. A few months later, I met Aaron McGruder, the artist who writes and draws The Boondocks comic strip. He signed my book and then after the informal question and answer session I got a picture with him (I felt like such a dork just asking). I�ve had a crush on him for a few years now, for his brain and looks. In the summer of �99 I was in a video with Destiny�s Child back when it was four girls, I met Kobe Bryant there too. In 2000 after a reading I met one of my favorite writers, Sandra Cisneros. Last, I met Los Tigres del Norte, a famous Mexican band, when they played for a fundraiser for the Chicano Studies Research Center at UCLA. They were really nice and the concert was fabulous.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star